Forkosch Awards

Best Humanist Book and Article Awards

The Morris D. Forkosch Endowment Fund was established in 1987 by Morris D. Forkosch and the Council for Secular Humanism to help further the cause of humanism by honoring individuals who make the greatest contributions to its advancement. This endowment finances the Morris D. Forkosch Book Award for the year’s best book on humanism (carrying a $1,000 prize) and the Selma V. Forkosch Award for the year’s best article published in Free Inquiry (carrying a $250 prize).

The Council for Secular Humanism bestows these two awards on a recurring (but not always regular) basis. All winners are listed in the table below.

The Morris D. Forkosch Endowment Fund committee continually solicits nominations for these awards.

To nominate a book, please send a copy of it to:
Morris D. Forkosch Endowment Fund Committee,
Free Inquiry, P. O. Box 664,
Amherst, NY 14226-0664.

Alternatively, you may email a book’s author, title, publisher, and year of publication—or an article’s title and author to

Morris D. Forkosch Book Award Selma V. Forkosch Article Award
2017 Kurt Andersen,
Fantasyland: How America Went Haywire: a 500-Year History
Rebecca Newberger Goldstein,
“Mattering Matters”
2016 Ali A. Rizvi,
The Atheist Muslim: A Journey from Religion to Reason
Phil Zuckerman,
“Secularism and Social Progress”
2015 Mark A. Smith,
Secular Faith: How Culture Has Trumped Religion in American Politics
Leah Mickens,
“Theology of the Odd Body: The Castrati, the Church, and the Transgender Moment”
2014 Rebecca Newberger Goldstein,
Plato at the Googleplex: Why Philosophy Won’t Go Away
Andy Norman,
“Reason Unhinged: The Religious Subversion of Civil Accountability”
2013 A. C. Grayling,
The God Argument: The Case Against Religion and For Humanism
Luke Galen and Jeremy Beahan,
“Does Religion Really Make Us Better People?”
2012 Susan Jacoby,
The Great Agnostic: Robert Ingersoll and American Freethought
Ryan Cragun, Stephanie Yeager, and Desmond Vega,
“How Secular Humanists (and Everyone Else) Subsidize Religion in the United States”
2011 Stephen Law,
Humanism: A Very Short Introduction
Gregory Paul, Daniel C. Dennett, Darren Sherkat, and Linda LaScolla,
“Stop Dumping on Atheists”
2009 Jerry Coyne,
Why Evolution Is True
Alexander Saxton,
“The Great God Debate and the Future of Faith”
2008 Susan Jacoby,
The Age of American Unreason
Larry Hickman,
“Citizen Participation: More or Less”
2007 David Trobisch,
“Who Published the Christian Bible?”
2006 Daniel C. Dennett,
Breaking the Spell: Religion as a Natural Phenomenon
2005 Susan Haack,
“Mystery-Mongering, Prejudice, and the Search for Truth: Replies to Some Reservations”
2004 Richard Dawkins,
The Ancestor’s Tale: A Pilgrimage to the Dawn of Evolution
2002 Taner Edis,
The Ghost in the Universe: God in Light of Modern Science
Pervez Hoodbhoy,
“Muslims and the West After September 11”
1993 Antony Flew,
Atheistic Humanism: The Prometheus Lectures
Richard A. Fox,
“’The Incredible Discovery of Noah’s Ark’: An Archaeological Quest?”
1990 Steve Allen,
Steve Allen on the Bible, Religion, and Morality

Sidney Hook,
Richard Taylor,
“The American Judiciary as Secular Priesthood”
1989 Stephen Jay Gould, Wonderful Life: The Burgess Shale and the Nature of History Adolf Grünbaum,
“The Pseudo-Problem of Creation in Physical Cosmology”
1987 Arthur N. Strahler,
Science and Earth History: The Evolution/Creation Controversy
Paul Edwards,
“The Case Against Reincarnation” (four-part series)